Frozen

tundraCold.

Beyond cold…

Frigid.

There are no perky songs.  No happy endings.

Frozen tundra.  Ice everywhere.  No relief.  The cold is unrelenting.  Cruel.  Biting deep.  Ripping me with furious frenzy.  Piercing me through and through and through.

Emotionless.

Numb.  Totally numb.

The true walking dead.

Cold and dark.  Dark and cold.  I need some warmth.  I need some light.  I need some magic.

But there is no magic here.  Not in this empty, freezing, harsh land.  Nothing to save me.  Nothing to bring a sudden and miraculous thaw.  A rebirth. Life has ended.  There is no hope.  No rewind button.  No second chances.

The silence is complete.  A total vacuum, swallowing any noise and every anguished cry.  It is so quiet, the emptiness beats on my eardrums, creating a roar that is deafening.  An endless roar that makes no noise whatsoever.  Everything is sucked into the silence.  It eats everything alive.  Consuming it whole.  Until only death remains.  Death, darkness and this frigid, unlivable landscape within my heart.

Caught in a spell I cast and from which I cannot escape.  I created my own prison and sentenced myself; incarcerated myself.  No chance of parole.

It made sense at first.  The pain was too much to bear.  It was so raw, I felt it physically.  Pain from all the abuse.  Rejection.  From being unloved, unwanted, unacceptable.  Being so alone.  Sucked into the void.  There were layers and layers and layers of isolation wrapped tightly around me, trapping me in an empty, crushing world that terrified and maimed me.  There was no relief.  No escape.  The pain was so intense, it was killing me.

I embraced numbness to soften the intensity.  Told myself nothing mattered.  That I didn’t matter.  And if I didn’t matter, I didn’t have any reason to feel or be broken.  I didn’t have a reason to be in pain.

Instead of the pain killing me, the numbness did me in.  The numbness I created.

Unintentional suicide.

There is no returning from death.    Once frozen, even a thaw will not restore life to the heart that has stopped beating.

Frozen.  Forever frozen.

No perky songs.  No happy ending.

 

 

Leave a Reply

